Saturday, March 10, 2012

1707 - The path to Independence

As a result of the 1707 Paris peace treaty, the United Provinces, as previously established as the Dutch Republic are dissolved. The provinces of Friesland, Gronigen, Drenthe, and the overlordship of Overijssel are independent Dutch provinces and may make such treaties and arrangements as they individually or collectively decide upon. The provinces of Holland and Zeeland, and the Bishopric of Utrecht are null and void, with the lands therein to be subdivided into new provinces, along with the lands of the region formerly known as the Spanish Netherlands, from the channel coast to the Rhine.

The Kingdom of Hainaut is born.

Long live Leopold I!